Get A 15 Minute Psychic Reading For Only $10! Call Ask Now Toll Free 24/7: 888-628-1444

What Are The 12 Signs Of The Zodiac?

The twelve signs of the zodiac represent twelve astronomical constellations. As the year progresses, the sun moves through each of these constellations in turn. People born when the sun is in a particular constellation are said to have been born under a particular zodiac, or star, sign. Each of the signs of the zodiac is also associated with an element – air, fire, earth or water – and with a ruling celestial body. It is believed that people born under each star sign share certain personality traits in common. The twelve signs of the zodiac are:

Aries (March 21 – April 19)

Represented by the ram, Aries is a fire sign ruled by the planet Mars. Arians are thought to be outgoing and adventurous; active, enthusiastic and independent. Although they are born leaders, Arians can sometimes be impulsive, aggressive and self-involved.

Taurus (April 20 – May 20)

The Bull represents this earth sign. Taureans are ruled by the planet Venus and are considered to be loyal and dependable, generous with time and money, and drawn to security and stability. Those born under the sign of the bull can also be stubborn, possessive, and at times can seem withdrawn from others.

Gemini (May 21 – June 20)

Often described as “mercurial” for their ruling planet Mercury, people born under the sign of the twins are imaginative, intelligent and creative; they are also the most talkative sign in the zodiac. Gemini is an air sign and Geminis can also be superficial and devious, as well as impulsive.

Cancer (June 21 – July 22)

Cancer is a water sign represented by the crab. Ruled by the moon, Cancerians are loyal and dependable, caring and compassionate; they can also be moody, insecure and self-absorbed.


Leo (July 23 – August 22)

This fire sign is represented by the lion and ruled by the sun. Leos are confident, charismatic and ambitious. They can also be generous and are usually very positive people, but sometimes Leos are also domineering, melodramatic and sensitive to criticism.

Virgo (August 23 – September 22)

This earth sign is also ruled by the planet Mercury and is represented by the virgin. Virgos are often analytical yet creative; reliable and sensible. Despite their positive traits, Virgos can sometimes seem cold, fussy or narrow-minded.

Libra (September 23 – October 22)

Ruled by the planet Venus, this air sign is represented by the scales of justice and as such Librans are usually diplomatic in their encounters with others. Librans also tend towards idealism and can be indecisive and unreliable at times.

Scorpio (October 23 – November 21)

This water sign is represented by the scorpion and ruled by Pluto. Scorpio is perhaps the most complicated of the twelve signs of the zodiac. Scorpios are passionate, loyal and wise, but can also be jealous, obsessive, suspicious and power-hungry.

Sagittarius (November 22 – December 21)

Jupiter rules this fire sign and Sagittarius is represented by the archer. Sagittarians are generally adventurous, independent and optimistic, but they can also seem unemotional and tactless.


Capricorn (December 22 – January 19)

This earth sign is ruled by Saturn and represented by the goat. Capricorns are ambitious and resourceful, yet responsible and patient. They can also be inhibited and distrusting; unimaginative and cautious.


Aquarius (January 20 – February 18)

This air sign is represented by the water bearer and ruled by Uranus. Aquarians are often clever and independent yet sympathetic towards others – they are often interested in philanthropy or in humanitarian causes. Aquarians often seem unemotional or detached because they do not display their emotions as readily as people born under the other signs.

Pisces (February 19 – March 20)

The last sign of the zodiac is ruled by Neptune and represented by the fish. Pisces is a water sign and Pisceans are usually compassionate, devoted and sensitive – they can sometimes seem oversensitive.


The signs of the zodiac are grouped by element which are described as follows:

Fire Sign

Fire is a symbol of the sun. It represents the energy that we need to survive as well as a strength that can be uplifting to those around you. The signs that are most affected by this element are Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius.

Individuals with a deep connection to the element of fire are often extremely compassionate. In fact, their compassion can be what makes them vulnerable because they often tend to give more than they have available to them at the time.

Those connected to the element of fire often have great intentions, but sometimes a strong will can cause issues with those who did not ask for your deep compassion.

Air Sign

Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius are the zodiac signs that are represented by the element of air. This element is the one that connects all of the other elements. Individuals who are connected to the element of air typically have a need to feel free.

You may find that you have difficulties fitting into your environment. This is because your liberal ideas may not always please those in your life, but it makes you feel alive and free.

Air needs to feel this sense of freedom to allow their soul to circle the universe. Life is not about pleasing others, sometimes you have to make yourself happy as well.

Earth Sign

Earth is the base of our existence, desires, and what we want to accomplish in life. Earth is also the planet that we live on, so if balance in this element cannot be found, the issue is often deeply rooted in that individual.

The zodiac signs that will feel most connected to the earth element are Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn. Individuals who have a strong earth connection tend to form habits or a routine that feels comfortable to them.

You may remain at a job for a long time because change is not worth losing the financial security that has become a comfort that you have grown used to.

Water Sign

Water is an element that is constantly on the go. It deals with things that have a beginning and an end, like life and death. It is also an element of emotion, so if you are deeply connected with the element of water, you should embrace your feelings without letting them control you.

The signs that represent this element the most are Cancer, Pieces, and Scorpio. Since water helps you get in tune with your emotions, those who have a strong water connection are often dedicated to helping others.

This can mean that you volunteer in the community, you are a therapist who helps others who are in emotional distress, or someone who simply provides a listening ear for those in need.

Related Topics

Return To List Of Psychic Articles